Seventh Week: Mountain Air

This week at Mountain Air, Liz decided to redo the whole women’s section in the store. She rearranged the entire layout of the racks on the floor, and we started to redo the wall display with the shelves and the racks. I helped one of the employees by taking the things she handed me down from the shelves on the wall because she was on a ladder. I then put those items back, and also helped her to move shirts and hiking pants off a rack so we could move the rack down. We placed all of the clothes on other racks in order to not make a mess of the store and to still let customers be able to shop the clothes while we were changing the wall.

Unfortunately, we couldn’t change the racks height because the spot we wanted to put it in didn’t work because a crooked crew was blocking the slot. I tried to problem-solve by getting a screwdriver to screw it in so we could put the rack in the slots, but unfortunately it didn’t work. This taught me that even though you have a vision for something and want to put it in a certain place, you will face some obstacles that will prevent you from doing that, and you instead have to improvise the layout.

This week I also helped them create a mother’s day display in front of the store. I was in charge of putting all of the men’s clothing that used to be on that table back in the store, and making sure the displays I put those clothes on still worked. I also helped some of the employees by picking some items likes socks to put on the table to go with the display. I also helped them arrange the items on the table, like the folded pants and boots. I then added some needed color to one side by propping up a bright purple backpack on the corner of the table on the floor. I was able to balance the colors and the heights/ dimensions of the items on the table display to make them look appealing to the customer.

 

Leave a Reply

